Faculty

Prepare for college or university with the best. To provide the highest-quality academic English instruction, ELLA instructors hold Masters Degrees and PhDs in second language teaching and learning, including degrees in Teaching English as a Foreign Language, Linguistics, and English as a Second Language Assessment and Curriculum. Our faculty's focus on academic English will bring students the expertise needed to take their English skills to university level.

Department Coordinators

Cyndy Reimer

:reimerc@douglascollege.ca

Janice GT Penner

Email: pennerj@douglascollege.ca

Faculty members

Sheilagh Badanic

BA (British Columbia) Ed (Lesley College)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)

Phone: 604-527-5599

:badanics@douglascollege.ca

Heather Barnes

BSocSci (Ottawa)BEd (Memorial)MA (British Columbia)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent) (VCC)

Phone: 604-527-5079

:barnesh@douglascollege.ca

Laura Cardoso

BA (British Columbia)RSA (London, UK)MA (Toronto)

Phone: 604-527-5710

:cardosol@douglascollege.ca

Tina Fusco

BA (Quebec)MA (Concordia University, Montreal)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)

Phone: 604-777-6028

:fuscot@douglascollege.ca

Nathan Hall

BA (Taylor University College, Edmonton)MA (Trinity Western)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)

Phone: 604-777-6634

:halln1@douglascollege.ca

Chris Maguire

BA (McGill)MA (Ottawa)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)(Carleton)

Phone: 604-527-5283

:maguirec@douglascollege.ca

Janice GT Penner

BRE (Rocky Mountain College)BEd (Alberta)MEd (British Columbia)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)

:pennerj@douglascollege.ca

Leda Reaume

BA, Dip In Applied Linguistics (Victoria) MA (Alberta)

Phone: 604-777-6028

:reaumel@douglascollege.ca

Cyndy Reimer

BA (Winnipeg)MA EslEd (Manitoba)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)

Phone: 604-527-5826

:reimerc@douglascollege.ca

Janice Sestan

BA (British Columbia)TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)(VCC)MEd (New England, Australia)

Phone: 604-527-5676

:sestanj@douglascollege.ca

Gordana Sokic

BA (Belgrade, Serbia)MEd. TESL Canada Certificate Level 3(Permanent)

Phone: 604-527-5673

:sokicg@douglascollege.ca

Michael Victor

BA (British Columbia)TESOL Diploma (VCC)MA (Leicester, UK)

Phone: 604-777-6114

:victorm@douglascollege.ca

Dani Zheleva

MA (Sofia, Bulgaria)DELTA (Diploma in English Language Teaching to Adults) (Cambridge University, UK)

Phone: 604-777-6631

:zhelevad@douglascollege.ca

FACULTY EMERITUS

Julia Robinson

BA, MA (British Columbia)

: robinsju@douglascollege.ca

Carol St. Jean

BS (Central Connecticut State College) MEd (British Columbia)

ESL Instruction, Program Planning and Development, Barriers to Participation in Adult Learning

:stjeanc@douglascollege.ca / castjean@telus.net

Tom Whalley

BA (Sophia, Tokyo) MA, MEd (British Columbia) PhD (Simon Fraser)

Language Education, Intercultural Communication, Faculty Development

:whalleyt@douglascollege.ca